Germany - The Charming Destination in Central Europe

Germany or officially the Federal Republic of Germany is a country located in central Europe. It is bordered by the North Sea and Denmark to the north, and the Baltic Sea to the northeast. To the east, it shares borders with Poland and the Czech Republic; Austria and Switzerland to the south, and France, Luxembourg, Belgium, and the Netherlands to the west. The country is situated geographically in the temperate region and covers an area of 357,578 square kilometers. It has the largest population in the European Union, with approximately 83 million people living within its borders, making it the second most populous destination for immigrants after the United States. The capital of the country is Berlin, which is also its most populous city, followed by Hamburg, Munich, and Cologne, respectively.

Germany is a member of the United Nations, NATO, and the G8, and it has signed the Kyoto Protocol. As of 2007, Germany is the third-largest economy in the world in terms of gross domestic product (GDP) and the second-largest contributor to development aid globally. On the other hand, the country ranks sixth in terms of military spending budget. Germany enjoys a high standard of living with its own social security system. With its growing population and economic development, Germany plays a significant role in European affairs on a global level and is recognized as a pioneer in various fields of science and technology.

Name and History:

A century ago, the Germanic peoples lived in an area called Sermania. From the 10th century until 1806, these Germanic regions became part of the Holy Roman Empire. During the 16th century, northern German regions became the center of the Protestant Reformation. Germany became a nation-state for the first time in 1871 during the Franco-Prussian War, which led to the proclamation of the German Empire. After World War II, in 1949, Germany was divided into two states by the victorious powers, and these states reunited in 1990. West Germany was a founding member of the European Economic Community in 1957, which later became the European Union, and East Germany joined this union in 1993.


Germany is located in the temperate climate zone in central Europe. Due to its geographical position, the country experiences four distinct seasons: autumn, winter, spring, and summer. The variations between seasons affect the temperature and humidity levels. While heavy rainfall is common in June, there is a high probability of snowfall in January and February. Most of Germany has a moderate climate with moist westerly winds, influenced by the northern extension of the Gulf Stream. The coastal regions, including the Jutland Peninsula and the protected area of the River Rhine flowing into the North Sea, experience a maritime climate. Rainfall occurs throughout the year, and the winters are mild while summers tend to be cool, although temperatures can exceed 30 degrees Celsius for extended periods. Moving eastward, the climate becomes more continental, with very cold winters, moderate summers, and long, frequent periods of drought. The central and southern regions of Germany undergo a transitional climate, alternating between temperate and continental climates. Additionally, the mountainous regions in the far south, and to a lesser extent parts of the Central German Uplands, have a mountainous climate characterized by low temperatures and increased rainfall.

Official Language: German

Official Currency: Euro

Capital: Berlin

Dialing Code: +49

Population: 81,770,900 people

Area: 357,386 square kilometers


Binary code Triple code Phone code Population
DE DEU 49 83783942


name native name Binary code Triple code
German Deutsch de deu


name Code symbol
Euro EUR
Austria Belgium Czech Republic Denmark France Netherlands Poland Switzerland

Some neighboring countries to Germany